Internet Safety

Are you worried about someone knowing you visited this website?

Computers store all the documents you work on and the addresses of all the websites you visit on the internet. It's impossible to completely delete this information. It is fairly easy for someone with even just a little computer know-how to access your computer files and history.

If you are worried someone is monitoring your online activities, here are some tips to help you stay safe online:

Directions to Clear Your History

Google Chrome

  1. Select the "Tools" menu (upper right hand corner of page beside the Favorites star)
  2. Under "Tools" select "Clear Browsing Data"
  3. Check the boxes beside the items you wish to have cleared
  4. Click "Clear Browsing Data" or simply press Ctrll+Shift+Delete to bring up the "Clear Browsing Data" screen and select the specific items to be deleted.

Mozilla Firefox

  1. Select the "Tools" menu
  2. Select "Options"
  3. Click the "Privacy" button
  4. Under "History" click the "Clear" or "Clear Now" button

Internet Explorer

  1. Select "Tools"
  2. Select "Internet Options"
  3. Open the "General" tab.
  4. In "Browsing history" area click the "Delete" button
  5. In "Delete browsing history" window click "Delete all", and then click Yes (or click only the specific items you wish to be deleted from the history).

Safari

Go to the History drop down menu and select "Clear History"

Resources

For more on this topic, visit these websites:

WiredSafety

Futures Without Violence

CDC.gov